Barcelona-Doha-Bangkok-Chiang Rai-Chiang Khong-Huay Xai-Luang Nam Tha

7 Jul

I am from Barcelona. My travels so far have been in Europe and North America, so flying east with qatar airways (fast fact: all the alcholic beverages are included), was already exciting. Mostly because the people around me during the two flights to Bangkok:
-first, the flight attendants seemed to be picked up from a porcelain collection of asian princeses, all of them wearing very cute hats and that characteristic shy smile
-when transfering in doha, qatar, and at 35 degrees celcius outside, arabic women were covered in black from feet to head, leaving only a thin rectangle around their eyes. Their husbands and children were in t-shirt and shorts. Except some (high status?) men that weared white robes
-in Bangkok there weren’t white and black robes, but budhist-orange ones, and also lots of men in militar clothes.

In the Bangkok airport I got my visa without even exchanging a word. I waited for my backpack and rided a taxi to the Mo Chit bus terminal. The goal was to take the 20.30 bus to Chiang Khong.

I was there at 20.35, so I first went to Chiang Rai (11 hours) and then took some very old bus to Chiang Khong (2 hours). Both rides were very enjoyable: in the first one I woke up with the sun rise shining red light over the rice fields surrounding the road. In the second I could already see many Thai people working in the fields. The bus was missing its doors so I spent the time taking some pictures.

Once in Chiang Khong I took a tuk tuk to the mekong river. Tuk tuks are three wheeled, motorized vehicles, commonly used for short distances. They are so good they named it twice. Once in the mekong river I crossed the border to Huay Xuay, I got my visa, and rided a bus to Luang Nam Tha. In the bus station I bought some almonds and a soda for three dollars, much more money than the three last rides, I realized later. It was probably five times the real price. Oh well…

I am finally in Luang Nam Tha, sleeping in a real bed.

20110709-022936.jpg

20110712-090637.jpg

One Response to “Barcelona-Doha-Bangkok-Chiang Rai-Chiang Khong-Huay Xai-Luang Nam Tha”

  1. Cris 07/07/2011 at 17:41 #

    Des de Barcelona t’animo a continuar amb aquest blog, que de moment pinta molt bé (i no n’esperava menys de tu!)

    Un petonàs bonicot!

Leave a Reply

